top of page
No hay tags aún.

SEARCH BY TAGS

CATEGORIES

FOLLOW ME

  • Facebook Clean Grey

My Barricaded Border Beach


It's so strange looking north and not seeing your face. I don't see the jetty of a thousand rocks surfacing from the ocean. I don't see the 8 lifeguard towers we used to climb. I miss the rocks, and the estuary, and pier plaza. From right where I stand it feels strange that I can't see the pier even.‪#‎ImperialBeach‬

Through this summer fog I gaze north and what I can see is the international border fence peering from the horizon. Submerged majestically in the Pacific ocean. I can't go around it. I can't go across it. I pinpoint the kids that are playing nearby it. They have sand buckets and tools, and they freely dig holes beneath it. They then buy corn from the man, and lean back innocently against it. They shove sticks through the fence. And their momma laughs in accompaniment, naively. #‎PlayasDeTijuana‬

See, at their age they don't comprehend that it's still just a fence and it's not just a landmark. That it's a barrier. A barrier for humans impeding them from seeing a wondrous world. For me a 5 mile walk from here to you. A leisurely stroll that should be an hour. A momentary drive that should last 20 minutes. Instead it is an elongated, stretched out, interminable three hour, five mile drive. One where I must have my documents. Proving that I'm allowed to see you. That I'm allowed to be here. That I can come to the other side. And that I can buy beer. And that I can vote. As well as eat an overpriced taco. While I see your face. And feel your embrace. Legally. #Tijuana #SanYsidro #TacosandBeer


bottom of page